Sometimes You Just Have to Let Things Go

Standard

A few days ago, I forked over $700 for some sensors for Scarlett O’Hara, my 1998 Ford Mustang Convertible.  I’ve had her for about three years and we have made it through some tough times together.  So, I feel a sense of loyalty to her.  She’s a beauty. People always stop to stare at her.  She has style and panache, but I have had to make repairs ever since I got her.  What’s beautiful on the  outside may not always be beautiful on the inside.  The service clerk at the repair shop told me, “Look at this way, by the time you’re finished, you will have a new car. ” By the time I’m finished! Sure, he can say that, because he’s sucking up all my money!  Last week, when I saw my “Check Engine” light, I knew it was time to let Scarlett go. She no longer brought me enjoyment,  instead I now viewed her as  a burden.  The last repair just solidified that.  It was the best thing for the both of us.  Feelings change and if you don’t feel good about something, that’s a sign that something isn’t right.  Go with your gut and trust your instincts.  No one knows what is better for you than you do.  Listen to the advice of others, but always let the final decision be yours, because you will have to live with it.  Even though I let her go on Thursday, I know there is someone out there for her.  Guys love her, so I know she won’t be sitting on the lot too long.  Doesn’t Scarlett O’Hara always get her man?

Scarlett O'Hara, gone but not forgotten.

Scarlett O’Hara, gone but not forgotten.

Leave a Reply

